One of the Directive Principles of State Policy enunciated in the Constitution of India is to promote the Welfare of the people. To achieve this, Tamil Nadu State Government has undertaken planned development in the State through various schemes, programmes and policies. In order to help the Government in implementing its policies effectively by more efficient utilization of the material, capital and human resources within the State and outside, it has been decided by the Government to constitute a State Planning Commission.

Accordingly, the State Planning Commission was first constituted in Tamil Nadu by the then Hon’ble Chief Minister, Dr. Kalaigner M. Karunanidhi on 25th May 1971 and continued to function under the Chairmanship of the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu as an Advisory Body and makes its recommendations to the Government on various aspects pertaining to the development of the State. 

State Planning Commission is headed by the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu as Chairman and consisting of Vice Chairman, Members (Full Time and Part Time), and Member Secretary.  Additional Chief Secretary, Planning, Development and Special Initiative Department and Additional Chief Secretary, Finance Department are Ex-Officio Members. The term of the Commission is co-terminus with the term of the ruling Government.The Member Secretary is responsible for administration in the Commission.

State Planning Commission’s Structure:

The  present composition is as follows:



Thiru. M.K. Stalin, Hon'ble Chief Minister


Dr. J. Jeyaranjan

Full Time Member

Prof. R. Srinivasan

Addl. Full Time Member

Dr. M. Vijayabaskar

Part Time Members

Dr. Sultan Ahmed Ismail


Thiru. K. Deenabandu IAS., (Retd.)


Dr. N.Ezhilan MLA


Ms. Mallika Srinivasan


Dr. J. Amalorpavanathan


Dr. G. Sivaraman


Padma Shri Dr. Narthaki Nataraj

Ex-officio Members

Thiru.Ramesh Chand Meena, IAS.,
The Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Planning, Development and Special Initiatives Department

Thiru T. Udhayachandran, IAS.,
            Principal Secretary to Government, Finance Department

Member-Secretary (FAC)

Tmt. Sudha.S, I.F.S.,

 State Planning Commission’s Organizational Structure

Major Functions

  • Monitoring macro economic growth parameters like economic growth, employment, poverty etc. and makes suggestion to Government on restructuring existing schemes / programmes or to formulate new projects / schemes / programmes.

  • Monitoring  the Economy of Tamil Nadu and send Reports to the Government for improvement as and when necessary.

  • Assisting the State Government in formulating long, medium and short term goals to guide overall development, also to achieve the targets set by the State under “Tamil Nadu Vision 2023 and  Sustainable Development Goals Agenda 2030”.

  • Evolving Sector wise Strategic Plans and Documents, in consonance with Tamil Nadu Vision 2023 and Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) adopted by the United Nations General Assembly to be achieved by  2025 and 2030; and in accordance to the Finance Commission Award period.

  • Systematically address “policy coherence issues” and offer a platform for resolution of inter-sectoral and inter-departmental issues in order to devise policies/programmes/schemes and accelerate their implementation appropriately.

  • Partnership between Government stakeholders, National and International Policy Advisory Bodies, as well as Educational and Policy Research Institutions are being encouraged.

  • Accessing the timely progress and performance through various Indices including the Human Development Index, Gender Development Index and other Sectoral Indices of relevance to State and in line with the International and National Indices and Standards for advising the Government for appropriate interventions.

  • Conducting periodic studies on various sectors to provide inputs and advise to the Government and in this effort co-ordinate with the leading Institutions in Tamil Nadu, elsewhere in India and even Overseas.

  • Creating knowledge, innovation and entrepreneurial support system through a collaborative community of National and International Experts, Practitioners and other Partners.

  • Advising on Policy coherence, covering inter-sectoral, inter-departmental issues and allocations, regulatory/mandatory frameworks in achieving goals.

  • Similarly, recommending appropriate adviceto the Government on plans for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes coverage aspects, on the concept of Leave No One Behind (LNOB).

  • Advices on the effectiveness of implementation of mandated systems and areas that needs focus such as Decentralized Planning under the 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendments and the Constitutional Amendments to be implemented by the State Legislations.

  • Implementation of Special Programmes:

a. Tamil Nadu Innovations Initiative  (TANII) scheme

b. State Balanced Growth Fund (SBGF) scheme

c. Tamil Nadu State Land Use Research Board  (TNSLURB) Activities

Administrative Structure of Technical Divisions

Agricultural Policy and Planning

Education and Employment

Health and Social Welfare

Industry, Power and Transport

Land Use 

Rural Development and District Planning

Plan Coordination

State Planning Commission’s Special Programmes:

1. Tamil Nadu Innovation Initiatives (TANII) Scheme.

Tamil Nadu Innovation Initiatives (TANII) scheme was established to make Tamil Nadu the “Innovation Hub” of the country and to encourage a culture of innovation in the Government and Government Agencies to address the processes and problems and to foster innovation through a variety of promotional activities and funding support for schemes and programmes.  Subsequently, the detailed guidelines for identification and implementation of Innovative Schemes were ordered in G.O. Ms No. 124 PD&SI (SP.1) dated: 24.10.2014.

Eligible Agencies to submit proposals through the concerned Administrative Departments are 1. State Government Departments, 2.Local Bodies, 3. State Public Sector Undertakings, 4. Statutory Boards formed by the State, 5.State Co-operative Institutions, 6. State Universities and 7. Societies formed by the State.

Since the inception year 2015-16 to 2020-21 (I Round),   State Planning Commission has recommended 330 innovative projects worth of Rs. Rs.696.90croreunder Tamil Nadu Innovation Initiatives scheme for 30 Departments.

2. State Balanced Growth Fund (SBGF)

Vast disparities are in key parameters of development across various regions of the State. In order to bridge regional imbalances among inter-districts & intra-districts, the State Government has formulated a scheme namely, “STATE BALANCED GROWTH FUND”(SBGF) in the financial year 2012-2013. Under SBGF, 105 nos of most backward blocks and backward urban local bodies have been identified based on the performance of the blocks/taluks/urban areas in the indicators like health, education, gender, per capita income, poverty and unemployment with the objective of bridging these disparities.

3. Activities of the Tamil Nadu State Land Use Research Board (TNSLURB)

The Government in the G.O.MS. No:58, Planning, Development & Special Initiatives (SPC) Dept, dated: 10.02.2011 constituted Tamil Nadu State Land Use Research Board (TNSLURB) in the year 2011 as a permanent body in State Planning Commission with a view to assess the Land Resources and advices the Government in Policy interventions in the areas of land and water resources.

It is also proposed to conduct Seminars/ Workshops / Awareness Campaign and to commission Studies on sustainable management of Land and Water resources under the TNSLURB. The Land Use Division oversees the implementation of the programmes of TNSLURB.


Home    |   About Us    |    Divisions   |    Five Year Plans    |    Annual Plans    |    SLURB    |    Reports    |    SBGF     |    Top