About Us

The State Planning Commission in Tamil Nadu was initially constituted in 1971 by the Government of Tamil Nadu. It continues to operate under the Chairmanship of the Hon’ble Chief Minister, serving as an apex advisory body which provides evidence-based policy guidance to promote holistic growth and development in the state. 

It aids in formulating, implementing and evaluating policies related to development, economic growth, social welfare and innovation in Tamil Nadu. It engages in the review, evaluation, and monitoring of various welfare schemes and programmes of the Government, to identify bottlenecks and challenges in the last-mile connectivity of these programs and to ensure effective public service delivery to grassroots levels.

The Commission works closely alongside sectoral Government Departments, promotes knowledge sharing and fosters collaborative initiatives for the State’s progress. It undertakes sector-specific studies and also organises topical seminars and workshops that bring together key stakeholders and experts.

Reconstituted in June 2021 with a ten-member panel, SPC actively engages with stakeholders to formulate innovative programs and policies tailored to its 7 broad Focus Areas and their allied sectors.

Our Mandate

The State Planning Commission supports the Government of Tamil Nadu in the planning and implementation of measures for the holistic growth and development of the state.

The Planning Commission’s  broad focus areas include the preparation of plans, strategy, and goal-setting, along with monitoring, evaluation, and policy advocacy. We are committed to creating policy coherence and ensuring the effective implementation of our special programmes, which include State Balanced Growth Fund (SBGF), Tamil Nadu Innovations Initiative (TANII) and Tamil Nadu State Land Use Research Board (TNSLURB)

The tasks of the State Planning Commission are to: 

Monitoring key macroeconomic growth parameters and provide evidence-based guidance to the Government on formulating new schemes, restructuring existing schemes and programmes and accelerate their implementation
Developing state policy briefs and sector-specific strategies, keeping in mind the goals and targets set by the State in Tamil Nadu Vision 2030 and Sustainable Development Goals 2030
Monitoring the state’s progress and performance through relevant indices like Human Development Index, Gender Development Index and other sectoral indices and developing appropriate recommendations
Interacting and coordinating with lead knowledge institutions in the preparation of reports, strategy documents, evaluation of schemes and facilitating knowledge sharing practices for sectoral departments by organising workshops, seminars, and lecture series in specific areas of interest
Facilitating partnerships between Government stakeholders and national and international Policy Advisory Bodies and academic institutions with a focus on public policy and policy research
Strengthening and fostering the existing innovation and knowledge ecosystem in the state

Organisational Structure

SPC | Who's Who

Designation Name Email Contact
Vice-Chairman Dr. J. Jeyaranjan  vcspc[at]nic[dot]in DIR: +91 44 28585705
EXT: +91 44 28545471-129
Full-Time Member Prof. R. Srinivasan srinivasanr2402[at]tn[dot]gov[dot]in DIR: +91 44 28545482
EXT: +91 44 28545471-122
Additional Full-Time Member Prof. M. Vijayabaskar vijaybaskarm2707[at]tn[dot]gov[dot]in EXT: +91 44 28545471-123


Prof. Sultan Ahmed Ismail sultanahmedismail0910[at]tn[dot]gov[dot]in EXT: +91 44 28545471-166
Thiru. K. Deenabandu IAS., (Retd.) deenabandu2302[at]tn[dot]gov[dot]in EXT: +91 44 28545471-126
Dr. N.Ezhilan MLA EXT: +91 44 28545471-124
Ms. Mallika Srinivasan EXT: +91 44 28545471-135
Dr. J. Amalorpavanathan amalorpavanathanj0410[at]tn[dot]gov[dot]in EXT: +91 44 28545471-153
Dr. G. Sivaraman sivaraman3004[at]tn[dot]gov[dot]in EXT: +91 44 28545471-132
Padma Shri Dr. Narthaki Nataraj narthakinataraj0607[at]tn[dot]gov[dot]in EXT: +91 44 28545471-133
Member Secretary Tmt. Sudha S. IFS msspc[dot]tn[at]nic[dot]in DIR: +91 44 28545460
EXT: +91 44 28545471-121

Commission Meetings